## SOCIETY PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

Not wanting any grass to grow under their feet as the old saying goes; the Society Board continues to push ahead with several projects.

Negotiations continue with the City of Davis in the hopes of continuing to oversee the day to day activities at the Hattie Weber Museum which for many years been operated by the "Library Club" whose members have reached the age of retirement.

The Society jointly with the Yolo County Art Council received a planning grant to ascertain the feasibility of the establishment of a Yolo County Cultural, History and Art Center. The land has been confirmed and the architect should have preliminary drawings for review in the next two weeks.

As this is written, a "Board Retreat" is planned for June 12th to review our vision statement, our past accomplishments and our future endeavors.

September 6th is the date of the annual Stroll through History in Woodland. Kris Turner and Marylin Thompson will again head the committee providing actors to portray former Woodland citizens at the Woodland City Cemetery. Volunteers are welcome.

This being the last newsletter of the Society's year, I want to thank the Society Board and the Society members for their continued support.

Peace, B.J. Ford, President Yolo County Historical Society

## JUNE PICNIC

The year-end get together of the Society, Friends of the Yolo County Archives, and the Friends of the Yolo County Historical Museum will take place on Thursday, June 19<sup>th</sup>. Located elsewhere in this newsletter, you will find the flyer for the Picnic. Mark your calendar, **June 19<sup>th</sup>**, 6 P. M. at the Yolo County Historical Museum.

## FRIENDS OF ARCHIVES TO ELECT OFFICERS AT PICNIC

During the program following the annual picnic of Yolo County's three historical organizations on June 19th, the Friends of the Yolo County Archives will hold their annual election of officers, as they have done in the past. Those who will be nominated as officers for the coming fiscal year are Ted Smith, President, Roberta Stevenson, Secretary, and Shirley Goldman, Treasurer. Those to be nominated to serve as members of the Board of Directors from July 2008 through June 2010 are Marc Faye, Alfred Hayes, Kathie Merwin, and Ann Scheuring. Jack Potter will be asked to continue in his role as the immediate past president and adviser to the organization. And those who will be continuing as members of the Board of Directors, through June 2009, are Joe Keehn, John Ohlson, Bill Petty, Claire Stark, Eldee Wirth, and Joe Zane.